REVIEW: SPARK by S.L. Scott

Title: Spark
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 22, 2018
Blurb

One break is all The Crow Brothers need and we’re about to get it.

Johnny Outlaw, rock legend and lead singer of The Resistance, is here to watch us play. But he’s not the only familiar face in the crowd—killer little body, heart-shaped face, and drop-dead gorgeous.

Hannah Nichols sitting at the bar makes it hard to concentrate, sparks already reigniting. The beauty was never a groupie and tonight she’s not here to catch our show. She came to drop a bomb. “You have a son.”

She underestimated me. I’ll prove to my son, and her, that I can be the dad he needs.

What is it about musicians? Why are they so damn sexy?

My heart was Jet Crow’s the moment he opened his sexy mouth and sang that first song. One stolen night with that man would never be enough, but I’m not here to fall into his bed. Again. I’m here to fight for custody of a son he’s never known.

There’s just one problem. Those sparks between us have become flames. If we’re not careful we’re both going to get burned.

ADD TO GOODREADS 

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited

Review

Any musical group Johnny Outlaw deems worthy of his new label is definitely one that The Resistance’s fans will support, and after being introduced to the the Crow brothers in S.L. Scott’s newest release, Spark, it’s clear that the band is ready for the limelight as long as the trios’ dreams of success align with what the oldest brother, Jet, needs to do in order to get to know and take responsibility for a little boy who comes to mean everything to him.

I’m a huge fan of S.L. Scott’s bad boy rockers, and even though Jet Crow and his brothers are still trying to ‘make it’ in the music scene, they definitely have the musical talent, swagger, and determination to climb the rock and roll charts and become a household name.

But Spark is about so much more than becoming a successful musician; in fact, music plays a secondary role throughout much of Jet and Hannah’s story. At its core, Spark focuses on a single father doing right by a son he never knew he had until the little boy was 6 years old and the mess that’s created by this revelation and the people who deliberately interfere in order to keep father/son apart for dubious reasons.

Scott introduces readers to a multitude of new characters in Spark – ones who will hopefully have their own story told, but the one character who absolutely stole the show is Alfie – Jet’s son, Hannah’s cousin, and the most amazing and caring little boy. Alfie is the reason that Hannah enters Jet’s life…he’s the reason that Jet finds every day a little brighter and now that Jet has someone else to protect, he steps up like he did for his brothers all those years ago after his mom passed away.

Jet’s love interest, Hannah Nichols, definitely has her own issues to sort through when it comes to her place in Jet’s life as well as the amount of time she gets to spend with Alfie. Hannah’s backstory is not a happy one, and while she made me a bit frustrated, at times, due to her hot and cold demeanor, readers can’t help but feel for her because she’s in an incredibly difficult position when it comes to what’s best for the little boy who has become her world and the man who is nothing like the man her cousin and her aunt have made him out to be.

Readers can’t help but hope Hannah is able to sift through all of the lies and realize that the connection she shares with Jet is something that could make her past pain hurt a little bit less and give her a future full of love and happiness, two things she hasn’t felt much of based on her past choices and her family members’ neglect.

Jet and Hannah’s story is a sweet, heartfelt, and steamy read that will have readers rooting for the Crow brothers to be successful in the music industry and for Jet, Hannah, and Alfie to become a family in every sense of the word. Fans of The Resistance and Johnny Outlaw will love the advice and the chance they give to the Crow trio, making them one big happy rock and roll family.

4 Poison Apples

Author Bio

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.

Author Links

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.