I protect what’s mine.
The ranch, my family, our buried secrets.

Nothing will stop me from reassembling the life that went terribly wrong.
Not the law.
Not our enemies.
Not even Maybe Quinn.

The gorgeous, quarrelsome journalist shouldn’t have meddled.
I shouldn’t have let her stay.
But she’s hiding something in those deceptive blue eyes.
Something deeper than her thirst for a news story.

I make a deal with her to buy time.
To unravel her lies. To play with her. To satisfy my darker appetites.
When she buckles beneath my belt, I’ll send her away.
Unless I buckle first.

Amazon →
iBooks →
B&N →
Kobo →
Other retailers →

Coming to audio soon!

My Review

Every book that I’ve read by Pam Godwin, I’ve adored, despite the emotional torment I feel as I read each one and the fact that I’m forced to witness the absolute fracturing of her characters’ hearts and souls as they maneuver through the shitstorm they’re subjected to, attempting to figure out a way to repair their brokenness by facing the past and focusing on the future.

Pam Godwin’s newest series, Trails of Sin, showcases her incredible storytelling and the effortless ways she seems to capture every single character emotion in a way that readers feel down to their core, and because her characters bare their souls in their own perspectives, it’s impossible not to mourn with them as they experience and endure heinous ordeals, understanding that the only person who can heal them is themselves and/or those who have suffered right along with them.

Book 1, Knotted, Jake and Connor’s story, sets the stage for what led to Jake and Jarret becoming the unethical, vengeful, angry men, and for the life of me, I cannot condemn them for their actions or the things that they have done to protect themselves and those they love. For six years, Jake, Conor, Jarret, and Lorne have relived the night that changed all of their lives numerous times, forcing the pain and devastation to always simmer beneath the surface, but since Jake, Jarret, and Lorne have set in motion the steps to take back their lives and bring Conor back home where she belongs, the darkness has eased slightly but these four will never be whole again until all of them are reunited and everyone who forced them to endure hell on earth for years have paid for their crimes.

Buckled is Jarret’s story, and it focuses on his efforts to move forward, taking care of his family and his ranch while also contending with an outsider who he instantly craves and refuses to let go of until she submits to him in limitless ways.

I have to admit that I was concerned about my perception of Jarret heading into his story; it’s beyond clear that his twin, Conor, and Lorne mean everything to him and he would gladly kill, maim, and destroy anyone who attempted to hurt them, but I didn’t know what made him tick…I didn’t know what was beneath his manwhore ways and the darkness that always seemed to surround him.

But, I can unequivocally say that there is a depth to Jarret that I didn’t even see in Jake, and while that may be due to Jake’s already established relationship with Conor and the steps he took to protect her, I’m still astounded by how multifaceted Jarret is and how amazing he turned out to be once he found what he was looking for and refused to let go of despite the risks he took and the secrets he withheld to get what he wanted.

Both Jarret and Maybe could buckle under the magnitude of their feelings for one another; at first, they were ones of mistrust and annoyance, but those emotions quickly turned to curiosity and desire and those are the ones that kept moving their relationship forward, despite the words they refused to say and the secrets that still held the ability to destroy them.

Because readers get both Jarret and Maybe’s perspectives, we are privy to their conflicting feelings, to their overwhelming desire for each other, to the way they communicate with their bodies instead of their words, to the sensual and sexual journey Jarret takes Maybe on, and to their struggle to not allow their pasts to affect the future they seem to want together, and let me just say that the way that Jarret and Maybe feel about one another as their time together continues goes way beyond anything either of them thought possible.

But this book also provides readers with more of Conor and Jake’s progress, not only as a reunited couple but also has two individuals who have had to deal with  more than anybody should have to, especially at their age. As a reader, I needed this insight…I was desperate to check-in on this couple and witness their healing, and I’m so glad that Pam Godwin provides readers with that information in Jarret’s story. What’s also clear in Buckled is how important Lorne’s return is and how difficult it has been for his family to have him in prison for ten years and the type of man he will be upon his release.

Pam Godwin is a powerful writer; she captures her characters’ emotions and the plot’s intricacies so vividly, articulating everything readers need to know about all those involved in the story and leading us through her complex storyline by slowly revealing everything that’s necessary to understand why her characters were forced to travel the path they did regardless of how much pain and hurt it caused them.

I’m ready for Booted now!!

5+ Poison Apples


Available Now
Amazon | Other Retailers

Available Now
Amazon | Other Retailers

BOOTED Book #3
Releases Sep 18, 2018
Amazon | Other Retailers

Pam Godwin

Pam Godwin Books GrayScale

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author, Pam Godwin, lives in the Midwest with her husband, their two children, and a foulmouthed parrot. When she ran away, she traveled fourteen countries across five continents, attended three universities, and married the vocalist of her favorite rock band.

Java, tobacco, and dark romance novels are her favorite indulgences, and might be considered more unhealthy than her aversion to sleeping, eating meat, and dolls with blinking eyes.

Author Links

Email →

Website →

Amazon →

Goodreads →

Instagram →

Bookbub →

Facebook →

Reader Group →

Twitter →

Pinterest →

Books2Read →

Other Books by Pam Godwin

Tangled Lies Series

Deliver Series

Trilogy of Eve



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.