Sofia Kendrick has always cherished her tiara. As the youngest daughter of a wealthy New York family, she’s lived the life of an American princess. But after two scandalous divorces and a breakup smear her name across the society rags, the shine from her crown has dulled. People call her superficial, even gaudy.

She’s nothing more than tinsel.

Desperate for escape and starving for peace, Sofia heads to Montana for a holiday weekend with her brother. But she doesn’t get the relaxing vacation she planned. Instead, she’s put to work in a bar alongside Dakota Magee—a man who does not want her help. A man who is set on teaching her a few lessons about real life and hard work. But Sofia has a couple of life lessons of her own to teach. Like how to fall in love.


Amazon UK:

Amazon AU:

Amazon CA:



Add to TBR:

My Review

Readers who are familiar with Devney Perry’s Lark Cove series know exactly who Logan’s younger sister, Sofia, is because we met her in Tattered, and I wouldn’t be surprised if many went into Tinsel, Sophia and Dakota’s story, with a less than stellar opinion of her after the antics she pulled in book one of the series.

But that’s exactly why I love characters who become main characters after they’ve been introduced in a secondary role in a previous book because what I’ve learned is that a first impression is just that – one small glimpse into who that person is and what makes that person tick, and while the circumstances surrounding Sofia’s mistreatment of Thea were uncalled for, portraying Sophia as a petty and spoiled little rich girl, when I saw that she would be the heroine in Tinsel, I just knew that there was a whole other layer of who she was and I couldn’t wait to see how her love interest/hero would help reveal exactly who this misunderstood and underestimated woman is beneath her expensive exterior.

Lark Cove is a definite change of pace for Sofia and her amenities as well as the expectations of her are beyond different to what she’s used to, but that doesn’t mean that she thinks she’s better than the residents of Lark Cove or that it’s beneath her…it just means that she’s never had to rely on herself to accomplish daily living tasks, and now that she has to, she’s a work-in-progress but the idea that she’s willing to learn…willing to make mistakes…willing to prove to everyone around her that she’s more than her looks and her no-limit credit card.

‘It was time for me to do more with myself than stay a career socialite. It was time to stop being the superficial, petty, and naive woman who’d been portrayed as nothing more than tinsel in that magazine article.’

Everyone had an idea of who she should be, of what she should do, but she’s not like other people – she is who she is, and while she did have some growing up to do and the new version she was creating of herself was still under construction, she was finding herself…she was finding her passion and that’s all anyone can ask for from someone who they love.

Sophia and Dakota may come from very different worlds, but the fact that they listen to one another and support each other is all they need to make a relationship grow and work; it’s amazing where their attraction and connection take them after their initial interaction. But like Sophia, Dakota has some baggage of his own that must be dealt with and he’s still finding his own path in life – one that has his family and their traditions as not really points of contention but just a difference of opinion when it comes to where Dakota should be and who he should be with

I really enjoyed Sophia and Dakota’s story, and even though I usually hate time gaps – even if it’s just a few months or a bit more – I truly felt like those gaps between them being together, given that they don’t live in the same state, went along with the idea of both of them trying to find their true selves…their happiest selves – the ones who know what and who they want and aren’t ashamed or afraid to say so. 

Be bold. Find your magic. Chase the impossible.

These are great pieces of advice and the fact that they all describe the main characters in every single story in Devney Perry’s Lark Cove series makes it just a bit easier to say goodbye to this group of fabulous characters and their beautifully told stories.

4.5 Poison Apples

Devney is the USA Today bestselling author of the Jamison Valley series. She lives in Montana with her husband and two children. After working in the technology industry for nearly a decade, she abandoned conference calls and project schedules to enjoy a slower pace at home with her kids. She loves reading and, after consuming hundreds of books, decided to share her own stories. Devney loves hearing from readers! Connect with her on social media.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Newsletter

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.