CRUEL LEGACYCruel Trilogy – Book 3

By K.A. Linde

Release Day  –  JULY 16

Watch Natalie get revenge in her new dark and glamorous life on the Upper East Side in the conclusion to USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s billionaire romance Cruel Trilogy.

Darkness swept in.

Smothering everything in its inky black.

I have turned into their worst nightmares.

And I will not rest until they pay.

For everything.

✦ Amazon →

✦ Apple →

✦ B&N →

✦ Kobo →

✦ Google Play →

✦ Audio →

My Review

I admittedly struggled with book two of the Cruel series. I didn’t understand why the characters made the choices they did, especially Natalie, and while I’m all for nasty people getting the ‘come up its’ they deserve, I wanted the focus to be more about the characters’ growth and the way they earned redemption, not just about all the ways revenge can be acquired.

Needless to say, I was extremely hesitant to begin Cruel Legacy; I didn’t know the Natalie readers would reunite with in the final book in the trilogy because, once again, her life in New York imploded because of the duplicitous nature of the Crew of Upper East Siders.

It’s clear at the start of book 3 that Natalie wants revenge; she wants the Crew, mainly Katherine and Lewis, to pay for the games they play with people’s lives. She wants them to understand that their actions have consequences, even if they never feel them because of the status and power they wield.

As the story progresses, Natalie is no longer the small-town girl who wanted to make it in New York; she loses her innocence and she takes a lesson or ten out of the Upper East Siders’ cruel handbook and makes them face the repercussions of their lies and manipulation. Natalie’s determined to not let them win – to beat them at their own game, but in doing so, she loses who she is at her core, forgets the person she wanted to be, and almost sacrifices everything she loves because she refuses to allow the Crew to stay up on their pedestals; they need to fall and she wants to be the one to knock them down, but the question is, is it worth it based on what becomes of her and how those closest to her don’t quite see the woman they remember?

The two main story lines in Cruel Legacy deal with Natalie getting her revenge and she and Penn re-establishing their connection/relationship, and while these things are occurring concurrently, Natalie is not the same person in the two situations, which means when these two plot lines intersect, it remains to be seen which one Natalie will have to sacrifice in order to reach the conclusion that she desperately wants.

I have to say that I am glad I stuck with the trilogy until the end because I wanted to see how everything played out and if the resolution was something that both readers and Natalie and Penn could live with given the dynamics of Natalie’s relationship with Penn and the other Crew members at the start of Cruel Legacy. But while I understand why Natalie did the things she did, I truly don’t understand why Penn reacted the way he did when everything was revealed toward the end of the story; it seemed a bit hypocritical and it made me bitter toward him, and while conversations occur and explanations are given, it was difficult to get past some of the things said and done throughout the course of the story.

Despite my issues with the actions and attitudes of the characters, the Cruel series definitely checks off all of the components of an angsty romance story, and readers who read and loved K.A. Linde’s Avoiding series will definitely enjoy this one.

3.5 Poison Apples


Cruel Trilogy – Book 1

Lose yourself to the dark and glamorous underbelly of the Upper East Side in USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s new billionaire romance Cruel Trilogy.

She was supposed to be a one night stand.

A way to sate my sexual appetite.

I let her glimpse the man I am. The face that I hide behind my carefully cultivated life.

But she ripped open that divide–and there’s no going back.

Now, she’s here. In my city.

I don’t care that I’m Manhattan royalty and she’s the help.

Only that she’s living in my summer home. With me.

And I want more.

✦ Amazon US →
✦ iBooks →
✦ B&N →
✦ Kobo →
✦ Google Play →
✦ Paperback →


Cruel Trilogy – Book 2

Lose yourself to the dark and glamorous underbelly of the Upper East Side in the second book in USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s new billionaire romance Cruel Trilogy.

I finally have everything I ever wanted–fame and fortune and literary success.

Only one problem: I lost my muse.

He was tall, dark, and handsome. Broody, enigmatic, alluring, and right for me in every way.

Until he wasn’t. Until I lost everything.

And I can’t lose it all again. I’ll do anything to keep it.

Even seeing him again…

Amazon US:

Amazon UK:

Amazon AU:

Amazon CA:


Apple Books:


Add to TBR:

About the Author

K.A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of more than fifteen novels including the Avoiding series and the Record series. She has a Masters degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, geeking out over Star Wars, binge-watching Supernatural, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super adorable puppies.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.