UNFORGIVEN by Jay Crownover

Loveless, Texas #2 | Available Now


Grab your copy of UNFORGIVEN today!

Amazon | Nook | Apple Books | Kobo


From the New York Times bestselling author of the Marked Men series comes an irresistible and suspenseful romance between a tough Texas Ranger and his first love–a woman in danger who insists she doesn’t need his protection.

Hill Gamble is a model lawman: cool and collected, with a confident swagger to boot. Too bad all that Texas charm hasn’t gotten him anywhere in his personal life, especially since the only girl he ever loved has always been off-limits. But then Hill is assigned to investigate her father’s mysterious death, and he’s forced back to the town–and the woman–he left behind.

When Hill left Loveless, he broke Kody Lawton’s already battered heart. And now that he’s working on her father’s case, avoiding him is impossible. She can handle Hill and her unwanted feelings–until he puts his life on the line to protect her. Suddenly, Kody realizes that Hill could be taken away from her…for good.

“Crownover delivers the goods.”-Lori Wilde, New York Times bestselling author

“Crownover writes cowboys that make you want to pack your bags in search of a small-town ranch!” -Melissa Foster, New York Times bestselling author

Includes the bonus novella Cowboy to the Rescue by A.J. Pine!

Add UNFORGIVEN to your Goodreads TBR here!

Grab your copy of UNFORGIVEN today!

Amazon | Nook | Apple Books | Kobo

My Review

At the end of Justified, Jay Crownover gave a bit of insight into next’s book hero and heroine, but in doing so, she left her readers with more questions than answers in regards to why Kody Lawton greeted Hill Gamble with a slap to the face instead of as someone she has known for almost her entire life.

But as soon as Unforgiven started and readers became privy to just how much of an entangled past Kody and Hill share, the pieces started to fall into place, and even though I felt like Kody’s anger and resentment toward Hill was unwarranted, given the circumstances and the emotional state that she was in during these life-altering events, helped me to understand that, that was how she coped…that was how she shielded herself from being weighed down by any further guilt, any more pain than she’s already dealing with after the loss of her first love and, more recently, her father. 

Kody is a heroine who readers will most definitely have a love/hate relationship with, but what helped me to keep things in perspective was being given her internal thoughts and the reasoning behind her words and actions. You had to look beneath her reckless behavior and her scathing and defensive words to understand just how wrecked and heartbroken she’s been for quite some time and how with Hill’s reappearance in Kody’s life, especially due to the situation that brings him back. And, as Kody and Hill’s story continues and her heart begins to thaw and she becomes as transparent as possible, healing can begin and her life can be lived instead of just going through the motions.

I don’t think I’ve been introduced to a more respectable or more good-intentioned hero than Hill Gamble for quite some time. And while he’s not without his faults, he most definitely lives to serve and protect as a Texas Ranger and he also lives to ease the pain of those he loves and Kody Lawton is right at the top of that list. Did Hill seem a little too good to be true? Maybe, but Crownover does a great job of illustrating the hows and whys that Hill became the man that he did and now that he’s back in Loveless what he’s willing to do to help Kody any way he can, even if it’s just to help her move on.

I loved being back in Loveless, Texas, and learning more about the Lawton siblings as well as Aaron and Hill Gamble and Shot Caldwell. And while there is an overarching suspenseful story line that brings Hill back to Loveless, he and Kody working through their issues and getting her to realize exactly how much Hill means to her is what I was most interested in witnessing play out. And, with how Crownover ends Unforgiven and sets up book three, I’ll be more than ready to head back at the end of October.

4 Poison Apples


Jay Crownover is the international and multiple New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men Series, The Saints of Denver Series, The Point Series, Breaking Point Series, and the Getaway Series. Her books can be found translated in many different languages all around the world. She is a tattooed, crazy haired Colorado native who lives at the base of the Rockies with her awesome dogs. This is where she can frequently be found enjoying a cold beer and Taco Tuesdays. Jay is a self-declared music snob and outspoken book lover who is always looking for her next adventure, between the pages and on the road.

Connect with her

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Reader Group


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.